Limited time

One thing about being a dog sitter and not a dog owner… is that I know it is temporary. I take care of some dogs for a few days and some times a few weeks.

I fall in love with a lot of these dogs I take care of and some of them I see them many more times and some of them I won’t see them for a whole year or maybe never.

When I know the time I have with these dogs is temporary it makes me cherish the time I have with them. I want to pet them more, walk them a little longer, cuddle them tighter, or just stare at them and admire their cuteness.

Last week a dog I took care of for three weeks went back to his family. He was a handful but you can’t help but love this big labrador retriever that loves to be loved. Every time I would pay attention to him and pet him and scratch him he will shake his big butt and swing his thick tail and slap me with it.

When the owner came to pick him up she said “Oh, now he is going to be bored at home because we all tend to ignore him.”

This made me notice how I was soaking up his beauty because I knew I only had a short time with him.

But when you think about it, we have a short time with every thing and every body and a short time on this planet in this life time.

Everything is temporary.

It was a good reminder for me to cherish the things, beings, and the moments that I take for granted.

IMG_3306

 

Leave a Reply

